Let me rest.

Feather PenI am so behind.

Two weeks ago today, I was bedding Sebastian down for the night and slipping into my sleeping bag to get a good night’s rest before my first recognized dressage show.

Since returning, I’ve been slowly putting together pictures and videos of the event to share on here with you all, but I just can’t seem to find more than a moment one or two evenings a week to put together my media and thoughts of this show.  My post is simply not ready yet.

I’ve also got to complete my post to fulfill the blog award and thank those who’ve nominated me – and this will be coming soon, too. I promise.  🙂

For today, a full two weeks after after the horse show: two weeks packed with work projects, evenings volunteering, keeping up with my six-for-six challenge other various obligations, I found myself singing a familiar song.

The song below is sad, but it floats around in my head during the times of my life when I feel overwhelmed and I want to remind myself that I can take a step back and just let myself rest.  Really, it’s when I’m asking (I don’t know who) for permission to just rest.

To me, the slow, sorrowful lyrics are extremely soothing so I wanted to share them with you.  As an added bonus (that I hope I don’t regret) I actually recorded myself singing the song tonight so I could share the tune.  I hope you enjoy and allow me this little breather to gather my thoughts and rest.

I am Weary (Let Me Rest)
by The Cox Family

Kiss me mother kiss your darlin’
Lay my head upon your breast
Throw your loving arms around me
I am weary let me rest

Seems the light is swiftly fading
Brighter scenes they do now show
I am standing by the river
Angels wait to take me home

Kiss me mother kiss your darlin’
See the pain upon my brow
While I’ll soon be with the angels
Fate has doomed my future now

Through the years you’ve always loved me
And my life you’ve tried to save
But now I shall slumber sweetly
In a deep and lonely grave

Kiss me mother kiss your darlin’
Lay my head upon your breast
Throw your loving arms around me
I am weary let me rest
I am weary let me rest

2 responses to “Let me rest.

Leave a Reply

