Being Polite: Some Help From Kant

Taking some time to catch up on some reading tonight and this post hit me in the heart. I love: “The worker has a dream, a family, looks forward to the end of her/his day. She/he is more than a servant. The cashier is not part of the cash register!” Important idea to keep in the forefront of our minds as we participate in each other’s days.

unsolicitedtidbits

“The cashier is not part of the cash register,” my philosophy professor declared as she explained Kant’s principle of autonomy.

This simple yet clear example from my undergraduate years echoed in my mind as I waited in line at Subway this afternoon.  A young lady in front of me snapped at the man putting her sandwich orders together.  Arms crossed, phone in hand she blurted,  “Um, I want more pieces of turkey on that one.  You have more on those other two.”  He checked his work and looked at her uncomfortably.  She pressed, “That one only has four slices. Those have five.”

He gave a friendly smile and pointed to the sandwiches to show that they were in fact even: “One, two, three, four.  One, two, three…”

Cutting him off, she huffed, “Okaaaaaay.  I get it.”  Then she returned her attention to her phone.

Kant’s principle of autonomy states: Treat humanity…

View original post 285 more words

2 responses to “Being Polite: Some Help From Kant

  1. I absolutely love your blog and so I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award 🙂 Directions to accept are at the bottom of my most recent post.

Leave a Reply

