A race, a show, and candy beans.

Almost two weeks of the “Six for Six Challenge” complete!

candy beans

Candy beans and Arrested Development! Yay!
(Image from Google images)

Out of all six goals the first week, I only missed one daily goal when I went a little overboard with tortilla chips when meeting with some lovely ladies for a book discussion last Thursday (oopsie!). The second week didn’t start out so hot when I missed two daily goals right off the bat.  First, I didn’t do my planks. Then I got a little carried away with some candy beans while watching multiple episodes of Arrested Development.

But, it’s all about the balance, right? 🙂

I’ve been on point the rest of this week and even got to add a second HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) workout to my cardio.  I’ve never really done interval training before, and it has been fun to try it out.  Don’t get me wrong – it’s SUPER INTENSE and I probably look like a crazy person each time I sprint, but it’s a shorter workout and I always feel liberated afterward from just seeing how fast I can go.

Today I did the first honest running workout that I’ve done in some time, and it went ok.  I typically like to use the run/walk method (have used it for years) and right now I’m doing 4 mins running and 1 min walking.  Doing this, I have an average of 15 minutes per mile pace.  My goal for the 5K on June 28th is to complete it in under 40 minutes so I know I’ll have to kick it up soon.  The plus side is that the HIIT sessions will help increase my speed and race day is a totally different monster – that adrenaline kicks in and I always go faster than I expect to.

I’ve run this race three times.  It’s a very unique race that celebrates the solstice and race start is at Midnight on race day.  The track is lit by lamps and moonlight, and officials direct runners by flashlight.  I love it! The past two times running this race, I came in around 45 minutes.  The first time I ran it was in 2008, when I was about 30lbs lighter than I am now, and I came in just over 31 minutes! (which is super fast for me).  So I’m thinking 40 minutes is a great goal considering my current weight and fitness level. I’m excited for race day.

Now, on to ponies!

I am happy to announce that, as of Wednesday, I have officially entered my first recognized dressage show!  The show will take place in Iron River, Wisconsin on June 8th and 9th.  Because we’ve really only been training for the month of May (thank YOU, Old Man Winter), I signed up just for one class each day.

I chose First Level, Test 1 for each test as we haven’t had much time to brush up our leg-yields and we’re definitely not ready for the counter-canter in First 3.  Not that it’s an easy test.  We still have to do lengthenings at trot and canter and there is a 15 meter canter circle.  The nice part about this test, however, is that I can really just focus on a nice forward gait, good transitions, and easing back into the show season.

I could do an entire blog post about my experience filling out the entry form for my first recognized show, but I’ll try to make it short.  It wasn’t until a week or so before the closing that I realized both he and I needed to be registered for USEF (United States Equestrian Federation) and USDF (United States Dressage Federation).  I thought it was just me that needed to be registered (thinking back on it, I have no idea WHY I thought that…), but, after a helpful email exchange with the show secretary, I knew that needed to be taken care of before I sent in my forms.

I was a little scared to get it all straightened out, but the great part was I had an amazing experience using the chat help feature on the USEF website.  The woman on the other end answered all of my questions and was very polite. She gave me all the forms I would need and got me all set up to send in his recording.  The day I sent in his papers for a lifetime USEF recording, I also hopped on to the USDF site and decided to get him a lifetime registration with them as well.  $325 later, I shouldn’t have to worry about this with him again.

Here’s a fun fact, too: after reviewing his papers, I realized that day was his birthday, too!  So that was his birthday present this year 🙂

Now that I’ve got all of our registrations taken care of and paid for, the next step is to get ready for the show!  There is so much that goes into show prep; from tack cleaning and packing, to picking up shavings and checking to make sure my truck is in hauling condition.  This is what is going to occupy my life for the next week, and I’m hoping I’ll get to tell you all about it!

For those of you who have never shown, it may be interesting to hear about all that goes into performing with a 1,200 lb animal.  For those who know all about showing, hey, at least I might get some sympathetic nodding!

12 responses to “A race, a show, and candy beans.

  1. Sounds like you are super busy with so much going on. Great to hear all the things you are involved in. Thanks for sharing and best of luck with everything 🙂

  2. I’ve never participated in the midnight run, but it sounds fun…I might be a last-minute entry this year–if I can get myself to stay awake for it! 😉 I’m looking forward to hearing more about the horse show and hope to be able to come watch one at some point this summer. Keep up the great work in reaching your 6×6 goals, Amy!! 🙂

    • You can totally stay awake for it! It’s a great race! It does sell out every year, though, so check it out if you make your decision to run. Thanks for the encouragement and I hope you can make it to a show! It’ll be fun to show you what I’m working so hard for. 🙂

      • There you go! That’s when things get really good (and much easier.) When you start enjoying the process, great to hear!!!!

Leave a Reply

