The conversation continues.

When I wrote Weight loss blogging? about two weeks ago, I was in a hurry – trying to get a post in before an evening board meeting and trip out of town for work.  Little did I know, that post would be the one that received the most comments on my little blog so far!  Thanks to everyone who responded with their thoughts!

What I realized after this post is that there are amazing and complex conversations to be had regarding health, fitness, and contentedness with our bodies and worst thing for me to do would be to deny my interest in these subjects.

So here I am to declare (cue the horns): losing weight and focusing on health and fitness is a major focus of my life, so it will be a component of my blog.  There. It’s done.  I have a weight loss blog and I’m proud of it! Hehe.

Before I go further, I would like to say that I’m not planning to write solely about my personal weight loss goals, so those that are interested in reading about other topics: dressage, book reviews, etc. should not turn and run.  I’m still very excited and motivated to write about those things as well.

For now, I’m happy to report that this week went very well with my plan.

Nutrition
My goals for each day: 110g Carb, 160g Protein, and 45g Fat.

Although I wasn’t within 10g of each every day, figuring out how to get close is getting better and better. My biggest challenge is reaching that protein goal.  I play the “how do I get more protein into this meal?” game every day.  (Answer: add chicken to EVERYTHING!)

Fitness
My exercise goals for this week were: Cardio: 1 session low intensity for 45mins, 3 sessions medium intensity for 20mins, and 1 session HIIT training (20 sec. high, 40 sec. low 10x). Strength: 3x week.

I will not get my HIIT training in this week, but I did get two of the 20min sessions in, and on Tuesday, I had a wonderful long walk with the dogs to fulfill the 45m low workout.  That was a GREAT day – I walked or ran just depending on how I felt at the moment.  It was liberating to just get out and enjoy being outside.  For the 2 20min sessions, I was able to continue 4m running and 1m walking like last week  (heart rate between 150-160 during the running portion) and I’d like to see how it goes taking out that walk break this week.  We’ll see!

Unfortunately, I was only able to do one strength training routine, but I hope to get them all in this coming week.

Results
As of this morning, I was 193.0 – within 0.4lbs of my ending weight from the last session.  Yay!  But best of all, I’m feeling stronger and more energetic than I have in a long time.

Now, I’d just like to be able to put that energy towards something OTHER than shoveling!

Remember my last post?  The never-ending winter of 2013?  Here are some photos from the next morning:

We got a total of 17.7 inches and broke the record for April snowfall by about ten inches. On Saturday morning, we also broke the record for the lowest temperature since 1928 with a temp of only 11°F. Brrrrrr!

But, I think we’re finally seeing the light at the end of the tunnel.  With some 50’s and even 60’s in the forecast we’ll be in for some warmer, albeit sloppy, surroundings.

In the meantime, I know of at least one little guy who is LOVING the snow:

My husky, Goose, who loves to stick his whole head into the snow.

2 responses to “The conversation continues.

Leave a Reply

