Everything is everything.

“Everything is everything, what is meant to be will be
After winter, must come spring. Change, it comes eventually

I wrote these words for everyone who struggles in their youth
Who won’t accept deception instead of what is truth
It seems we lose the game before we even start to play
Who made these rules? We’re so confused, easily lead astray

Everything is everything, what is meant to be will be
After winter, must come spring. Change, it comes eventually

Sometimes it seems we’ll touch that dream,
But things come slow or not at all
And the ones on top won’t make it stop
So convinced that they might fall.

Let’s love ourselves and we can’t fail to make a better situation.
Tomorrow our seeds will grow, all we need is dedication.

Let me tell you that everything is everything
What is meant to be will be
After winter, must come spring
Change, it comes eventually.”

–Lauryn Hill, excerpts from “Everything is Everything”

On my way to my lesson today, I tired of the radio and flipped to CD just to see what was in my player.  It was The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill, which (although it may surprise you) is one of my absolute favorite albums, and it was timed perfectly at the start of this song.

It couldn’t have come in a better moment. I was tired, had been sick for a week, and it took some self-convincing to push my day forward and just GO to this lesson.  No excuses, no justification of why I couldn’t make it, just simple dedication.  And this song was a welcome encouragement.

Read it slowly.

“Everything is everything, what is meant to be will be
After winter, must come spring. Change, it comes eventually”

A perfect sentiment for what I’m feeling right now.  Change is coming and as spring approaches, it feels like a rebirth.

“Sometimes it seems we’ll touch that dream,
But things come slow or not at all”

…and

“Tomorrow our seeds will grow, all we need is dedication.”

Now, I realize taking some of these lines out of context changes what may have been the original intent of the author, but the great thing about the written word is you can take a line, a paragraph, or an entire book and just let it be what it means to you.  Take that one step further and put those lyrics to music and you have a very powerful way to reach your soul.

So I went to that lesson and, you know what?  I did a flying change for the first time in a long time.  Leah tricked me into doing it, but that’s a story for another day.

The point is: everything IS everything.

What does that mean to you?

Leave a Reply

