The obligatory first post.

Feather PenI’ve spent half of my New Year’s Day looking at themes and playing with blog set-up, yet I should still write my first post.

Today is January 1st, 2013 and many people have spent the last few weeks reflecting on their 2012, celebrating the good and lamenting the bad. Me, having had what I consider to be the most difficult year in my life in 2010, look to each new year as a chance to make a new improvement and grow out of that unfortunate year. This feeling comes with some trepidation as well, however. I didn’t see the events in 2010 coming and no one knows what each year has in store for us.

The concept of years is interesting in itself.  We compartmentalize our lives into sections of days that fall between January 1st and December 31st and decide that, within those dates, a specific theme or life experience emerges.

Maybe our “year” is meant to start in the spring…or maybe this time of hibernation is better.  Today’s high in Duluth, Minnesota was 14 degrees Fahrenheit and the coldest temps are still on their way. What better conditions to start a resolution to write?

Sebastian and I at our first show at 1st Level.

Sebastian and I at our first show at First Level, August 2012

A simple recap might be a good place to start.

In 2012, I:

  • Achieved my ambitious goal of earning a First Level Mastery Award from my local dressage GMO, North Woods Dressage Association.  For you dressage riders out there, this requires four tests at 60% or above from 3 different judges, one being the top test of the level.
  • Had “manager” added to my title for the first time in my life.  I’m lucky to have a job I enjoy pretty much every day and one with which I use my degree in English.
  • Completed two half marathons – one of which was a 2012 resolution.  Neither were fast or well trained for – a problem I’m working to change for any races I run in the future.
  • Had my wisdom teeth removed. Finally.
  • Continued to write a monthly column for a local paper: a task that is both the best and worst part of my job.  It’s tough for a procrastinator, but, again, the hope is that this blog will continue to hone my writing skills and make less intimidating.
  • Took a trip to Boston and Washington D.C. for some much needed relaxation time and to visit desperately missed friends.
  • Did not lose a single pound, that is, until October 15th, when I began a life-altering journey with a nutritional/fitness coach.  Since then, 20.6 lbs have been lost and more will disappear this year.
  • Read 34 books.  Unimpressive!
Sticking to our nutritional plan for the last meal in 2012.

Sticking to our nutritional plan for the last meal in 2012: grilled tuna on a bed of greens drizzled with oil and vinegar dressing, surrounded by orange slices.

Goals in 2013?  I hope to:

  • Write at least weekly in this blog – about whatever I feel like – to enliven my writing skills.
  • Maintain the nutritional plan set before me, whether I’m actively “checking in” or not.
  • Enter and complete at least one class at Second Level, at a recognized or schooling show.

How’s that for a start?

3 responses to “The obligatory first post.

Leave a Reply

